What States Can I Carry In?
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. Colorado depending on a state of residence.
This Class also makes you ELIGIBLE FOR OREGON. You will receive a Certificate to make you eligible for the Oregon permit. To receive the Oregon permit, you must apply in person for it. You will need information sheet in class.
States recognized depends on your state of residency. If you live in a state other then Washington, you will want the Utah permit so you can carry in Washington.
The class makes you eligible to receive Oregon, Florida, and Colorado.
How Much Is It?
You will have to send a $49.00 check or money order with your Utah application. If you’re from Arizona, you will need $60.00
I Have Already Been Fingerprinted For My WA Permit
Sorry, Each state requires their own fingerprints. For example, if you want your Utah permit. You will have to be fingerprinted for Utah because Utah wants your prints. But you will not have to submit your prints to each state Utah’s permit recognizes.
How are you different than the other companies who teach this?
Our core difference is that our instructors are full-time police officers.Many other companies instructors are military or NRA. All though that is good, they typically do not have the legal background. Don’t you want to be taught by the person who would be showing up to your call after you use your firearm?
Most other companies charge 70-80 for the class and 1 permit. If you want Oregon that is another fee, Florida another fee, and pretty soon your looking at $160 NOT including the permit fee
How Long Will It Take To Get My Permit
Once the application is mailed we have no control over the time. It typically takes 60-70 days. If you have reached your 60 days please email or call Arizona DPS.
Email : https://www.azdps.gov/About/Contacts/Email/?c=CCW.
Or call 602.256.6280.
PLEASE EMAIL, if possible they typically get back to you that day or in 24hrs. The people answering the phones are also the ones processing your permits. So please try not to bog down the phone lines.
Will I need to Shoot/Test/Qualify
No, this is a classroom only class. If you are interested in learning how to shoot or want more training please look at our class offerings.
Do I have to already have my permit?
Yes/No you have to have your resident states CPL to get your Utah permit. However, you do not need a CPL for class. Utah class is valid for one year, so you have up to one year to get your CPL. You DO NOT need to have a Washington CPL to get an Arizona CPL.
Common I-1639 Questions per AG’s Office
Does Initiative 1639 make me liable if my firearm is stolen and used in a crime?
No, not if you report it as stolen. The new law specifically provides an exemption from the storage requirement for a firearms owner if their firearm is taken from them:
- Through unlawful entry, and
- The unauthorized access or theft is reported to law enforcement within five days of the time the owner knew or should have known that the firearm had been taken.
Effective July 1, 2019, Washington law defines “secure gun storage” as
- A locked box, gun safe, or other secure locked storage space that is designed to prevent unauthorized use or discharge of a firearm; and
- The act of keeping an unloaded firearm stored by such means.
Yes, but the training requirement only applies to purchases of semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifles after July 1, 2019.
Owners of semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifles who obtained their firearm before July 1, 2019 are not required to have training.
The training requirement does not apply to other types of firearms.
After June 30, 2019, before delivering a semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifle to a purchaser, a dealer must be provided proof that the purchaser has completed a recognized firearm safety training program within the past five years.
The proof of training must be in the form of a certification that declares under the penalty of perjury that the training included minimum requirements prescribed in the law.
The training must be sponsored by a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement agency, a college or university, a nationally recognized organization that customarily offers firearms training, or a firearms training school with certified instructors.
The training must include instruction on:
- Basic firearms safety rules;
- Firearms and children, including secure gun storage and talking to children about gun safety;
- Firearms and suicide prevention;
- Secure gun storage to prevent unauthorized access and use;
- Safe handling of firearms; and
- State and federal firearms laws, including prohibited firearms transfers.
Certain existing laws that applied only to pistols were expanded by Initiative 1639 to also apply to semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifles. This includes the enhanced background check requirement. Click here for more information on enhanced background checks.
After July 1, 2019, before delivering a semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifle to a purchaser:
- The dealer must receive a complete application from the potential purchaser. (Click here for more information on application requirements); and
- The dealer must be provided proof that the purchaser has completed a recognized firearms safety training program within the past five years. (Click here for more information on training requirements); and
- The dealer must initiate an enhanced background check with the police chief or sheriff where the purchaser resides. (Click here for more information on enhanced background checks); and
- Ten days must have elapsed from the date of the purchase application or, in the case of a transfer, ten business days from the date a background check is initiated.
Unless an exception applies, a firearms dealer can be criminally charged for selling or transferring a firearm to a purchaser without first complying with the law regarding background checks, or for delivering a firearm to a person whom he or she has reasonable cause to believe is ineligible to possess a firearm. RCW 9.41.080.
After July 1, 2019, state law prohibits anyone who is not a resident of Washington from buying a semiautomatic Semi-Auto Rifle in Washington.